René Nyffenegger's collection of things on the web
René Nyffenegger on Oracle - Most wanted - Feedback -

Locks [Oracle]

Lock modes

There are five lock modes in Oracle. The absence of a lock (which can be counted as sixth lock type) is called a null lock.


Abbreviation: NL

row shared

Abbreviation: SS

row exclusive

Abbreviation RX(?) or SX. SX apaprently stands for subexclusive lock.


Abbreviation: S

share row exclusive

Abbreviation: SRX(?) or SSX


Abbreviation: X

Lock types

Transaction Lock

Abbreviation: TX

TM ??

Thread checkpoint enqueue

Abbreviation: TC